The tale of Marrakech

As the Easter holiday is speedily approaching it is time to travel, unwind and most importantly get away from work…work…work. Marrakech is a place full of culture and vibrant colours at Salaam Style HQ we look back at a tale behind our most favourite, statement jewellery pieces.

It was the third day of my Easter holiday that I had long awaited for. The scent of strong home grown coffee steamed through the café I was sitting in. Plates hung on the wall full of swirly intricate detailing as I embraced the art such beautiful setting around an open space a strong male figure blocked my view his hand reached out to me this was after all Marrakech and I was sitting in the middle of a market.

As he opened his hand the jewellery was full of uniqueness. You’re probably thinking ‘hmm I do see Moroccan jewellery in London’s Camden market’ however these pieces had a lot more significance as a followed the gentlemen to his stall I saw two workers at the back hand crafting necklaces with they’re very hand no I asked the gentlemen how did you make all of this fresh jewellery that hung he pointed at a  a tray of metal tools.

The jewellery explored different metals different gems and different carved detailing. Inspiration of the eastern culture crept out through every piece of jewellery. I was a long way from home in the perfect setting to embrace the beauty of such a culture.

Jewellery is a statement and in every piece I seem to understand thoroughly now all of the work was put in to be proud of once I was wearing the jewellery we are embracing a culture with such skill. The limitation of one tool that produced such eye-catching exceptional jewellery I taken away with me a few pieces that I would forever treasure the prints and stunning qualities are an instant reminder of the tale behind the craft of the jewellery I wear.

Leave a Reply

